Skip to content

26.11 Volunteer at a Homeless Shelter

January 26, 2011

I have such a soft spot for homeless people. I can still remember the first time I saw a homeless person. I was with my family in Galveston and there was this guy in a wheelchair asking for change at a red light. I told my dad to help him, so he gave him a dollar. For some reason I remember that day like it was yesterday. I was blown away that no one was helping him. That’s when my parents told me there were places that homeless people can go when things get tough.

Since we are the capital and the shelter is located downtown, we see homelessness a lot here. Front Steps has countless opportunities to volunteer. To learn more about volunteering, visit their website. They need help year-round.

It’s true that nothing is more valuable than time. Once it’s gone, you’ll never get it back. Spend it wisely. I think giving time to help others is one of the most noble and selfless things someone can do. You never know how you can inspire or change people.

For those that don’t have the time to volunteer, you can always donate. They’re seeking everything from hygiene products to men’s khakis. For a full list of items they need visit: http://www.frontsteps.org/how-to-help/donate/wish-list.html.

A little bit of help can go a long way.

Location:
500 East 7th Street
Austin, Texas 78701

http://www.frontsteps.org/

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

