Skip to content

14.11 Mariachi at El Sol y La Luna

January 14, 2011

The two hot concerts around town tonight are sold out, so everyone going to either George Strait or Girl Talk, please enjoy. I envy you.

Instead of a packed concert, I decided to blog on a good spot for a Friday night date.

This tends to be one of those places around town that you either love or hate. I appreciate it for what it is, mariachi music and cheap, delicious Tex Mex. That’s more than enough to keep me coming back.

I used to go to the one on South Congress all the time before it moved to the new sixth street location. I’m not as much of a regular as I once was, but the food is still just as good.

It should go without saying, but order the guacamole. Trust me. The fish tacos also are pretty tasty, and their enchiladas are fantastic.

You can find great Mexican food all over this town, but the price, the atmosphere and sound of mariachis on a Friday night is tough to beat.

I’ve never been to Mexico (that’s going to change this year), but this place is kind of what I picture an authentic Mexican restaurant to look like. I have no idea why. It just does.

I also love to blog on places that get involved with local charities and fundraisers around town, and El Sol y La Luna seems to pitch in at a ton of non-profit events every year.

Location:
600 East 6th Street
Austin, Texas 78701

http://www.elsolylalunaaustin.com

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

