Skip to content

365. Abel’s On the Lake

December 31, 2010

When I first started this whole journey 365 days ago, I thought I would be anxiously awaiting this day. Writing a blog every day just seemed like such a mind-blowing task. But the journey has been so exciting, I realize that there are so many things I have yet to cover. The list must go on!

For the most part the blog is just a day-by-day list of things to do, and it’s rare that I plan ahead. But at the start of it all, I had the 360th day planned (the 360/Pennybacker bridge) and today’s. From day one I thought I would say, “365. Go to Austin Bergstorm Airport, Get On a Plane and Discover a New City. You have Covered All The Things To Do In Austin.” Life is funny though, and the blog has become such a part of me I can’t imagine quitting. There are plenty of great things that didn’t make the 2010 list, so instead of discovering a new city, I’m going back to the start.

The first list item was Mozart’s, mostly because I love Lake Austin and I love that place. So today I’m blogging on Abel’s on the Lake, Mozart’s next-door neighbor. It  seemed to be the perfect way of coming full circle. If you were to start on day one and do everything on the list, you would end up on the lake, next door to where the everything started.

Abel’s on the Lake was the best thing to happen to the abandoned space at 3825 Lake Austin Blvd. The atmosphere is great, and day drinking on the lake is just fun. For lakefront dining, the prices are great (for the most part, same as Hula Hut). My two favorites on the menu are the frozen Mango Margaritas — one of the best in the city hands down — and the Arnold Palmer. If I can find an Arnold Palmer with booze in it, I’m ordering it. I also love the UT clothes you can buy there. The v-neck UT shirts catch my eye every time.

Location:
3825 Lake Austin Blvd.
Austin, Texas 78703

http://www.abelsonthelake.com/

I want to take a second to say thank you to everyone that helped inspire and support me along the way. Ali, without you this would have never really started, so I owe it all to you. Mom, Dad – I know you don’t comprehend the whole concept, but you do your best and that’s enough for me. Heck, Dad you even tried to make a facebook account to follow the blog. Little did you know, you could just go to 365thingsaustin.com and read. My friends – I don’t even know where to start. The overwhelming support of it has truly left me speechless. Megan, I can still remember the first time you realized it was me blogging, and your support has been unwavering since day one. You even enlisted your Star Reporter of the Year/Fiancé to help me edit, so thank you to both you and Chris. Ashley, your daily readings and support always leave me with a smile. James, you were my first blog comment and now friend, and your support and help has been amazing. I want to thank everyone on the ingZ team who made the iphone app possible. It’s fantastic! I don’t want to forget anyone, so for everyone who’s helped me along the way — thank you and I hope you realize how much I appreciate the support.

Here’s to many more adventures and good fortune in the New Year!

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. celine permalink
    December 31, 2010 11:20 am

    hello,
    i’m french and when i knew i have to follow my husbang going to Austin 4 months ago i was looking for what to do in austin and like a dream : your blog ;))
    so i spent august in France looking all this amazing things to do and i was less scary about leaving my country !
    with you also i learn how to practice my poor english every day and you help me to discover this incredible city so
    THANK YOU SO MUCH !!! please continue , i need you ! ,))

    bises
    Céline

  2. sue kehoe permalink
    December 31, 2010 10:03 pm

    Congratulations Kristy on 365 things to do in Austin. I have followed your blog all year long even though I’m in Oceanside, Ca… The family is so proud of you. Keep up the good work in 2011.
    Love,
    Aunt Sue

  3. January 2, 2011 11:30 pm

    Hi Kristy,
    Congratulations! I found your blog early in 2010 and was inspired to start my own at 365Barrington.com. (a suburb of Chicago) I’m on day 276 and have been feeling like I’m running out of steam. So I thought I’d check back to see if you made it to the end. I’m so happy that you came full circle and are starting all over again and I’m feeling a little more motivated, thanks to you. If I ever know anyone moving to Austin, I’ll definitely recommend they check out your blog. Are you still in the real estate business? I wish you all the best with your second 365.
    Thanks, Liz

    • January 3, 2011 10:44 am

      Hi Liza, I did have those days but the blog has been such an exciting ride I couldn’t imagine stopping! If you have made it this far you certainly can see the end in sight! I am still doing real estate, luckily I live in a city that is great to blog on and is great for real estate. Good luck and Happy New Year! Trust me come day 365 you will feel such a sense of accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • December 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

