Skip to content

360. 360 Bridge Overlook

December 26, 2010

When I first started this whole journey in January one of the few list items that I planned ahead on was today’s; I always thought, “I am going to blog on the 360 bridge on the 360th day of the year.” Imagine that the 360 Bridge on the 360th day, naturally it seemed perfect.

The 360 bridge (technically Pennybacker Bridge) is one of my favorite places in Austin. Every time I drive over it I think of how lucky we are to live in Austin. I don’t know if it’s the beautiful scenery overlooking Lake Austin (one of my favorite things on planet earth), or just the fact that it’s such an Austin icon. Either way it symbolizes all the things that make me happy to be an Austinite.

The 360 bridge overlook is always a fun little hike. You get some great pictures, a little exercise and a new appreciation for how beautiful our city can be. With all the rain we’ve had in the last few days I’m guessing it might be a little muddy, so keep that in mind if you’re venturing out that way.

Location:
You’ll see the cars parked right on the side of 360 as your approach the bridge

Photo: David Gibbs

3 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    December 30, 2010 11:29 am

    Not to be picky, but on the right side heading north or south?

    • January 1, 2011 7:23 pm

      Hi John, it is RIGHT before the bridge (on the right) as you are heading South.

  2. Adam Shoenfelt permalink
    December 30, 2010 1:59 pm

    As a native Austinite who now lives in Dallas, I try to drive Loop 360 in Austin as often as I can when i am in town. I have always loved the view of this bridge, and of the view from it. Thanks for writing such an interesting blog!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • December 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

