Skip to content

329. Operation Turkey

November 25, 2010

Happy Thanksgiving Austin!

I love this concept because it started as one person that was packing up extra food and delivering it to homeless people one meal at a time. This reminds me of when my roommate and I would make a bunch of sack lunches and drive around with the top down on my car and hand out lunches to homeless people. They appreciate it so much, and it always makes my day. It really makes you realize how something so small can have such a huge impact on someone who is not as blessed.

Operation Turkey has grown into a huge event that helps feed thousands of grateful people. Last year over 1,700 people volunteered and 4,000 people were fed. If you’re needing a hot meal today or for more information on getting involved, visit their website!

I struggled to find a giving back event, or a volunteer opportunity to post today so if you know of any please, please leave some comments!

In other Austin news, a famous Austin tradition today is the Turkey Trot – so those running this morning, Godspeed, may you burn off as many calories as you plan to eat today!

Since Thanksgiving is a time to give thanks, I want to say thank you to all that read blog: my sister who couldn’t be a better cheerleader for me, my parents who read the blog daily, Cobb who has graciously taken on the task of editing my somewhat scatter-brained posts, Megan who is full of ideas and my other friends who couldn’t  be more supportive and encouraging! I can’t say it enough, but I appreciate you all more than words can say.

Of course, it would be un-Austin and completely un-Longhorn of me not to say Hook ‘em Horns. I am hoping and praying for a Texas victory today because victory is oh so sweet.

Time: 9 a.m to noon

Location:

Bikini’s Sports Bar & Grill (2 locations)
214 E. 6th Street
Austin, TX 78701

Or

Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill
6901 N. IH35
Austin, TX 78752

http://www.operationturkey.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

