Skip to content

299. Izzoz Tacos

October 26, 2010

We can call today “Trailer and Taco Tuesday,” because as you can tell by the name, Izzoz is a taco joint.

Tacos are the original trailer food, so today’s list item is a pretty safe bet for those that were a little skeptical of the sushi.

I stopped by yesterday on my way home from work. The guy helping me immediately asked if it was my first time, as he noticed I had snapped a few pictures. I told him to serve me up something that will keep me coming back for more. He insisted on the fried avocado taco and the del mar.

My only experience with a top-notch avocado menu item is the stuffed avocado from Trudy’s, so I was skeptical to see if this taco would live up to my possibly unrealistic expectations.

It was one of the best tacos I’ve ever had in Austin!

I’m afraid I’m going to wake up in the middle of the night craving it! It was so good! I didn’t think the Del Mar could compare, but it turned out to be nearly as delicious, just in a completely different way. They without a doubt were two-for-two with me today.

The variety on the menu is great – everything from pork to fish to fried avocado.

I would be doing them an injustice if I didn’t mention their fantastic creekside location off South First. They have plenty of picnic tables and tons of trees that provide great shade.

Finally, they also get credit for being open on a Monday. A lot of trailers close their doors on Monday, but Izzoz is open seven days a week.

It was delicious, and I’ll be back sooner rather than later.

Location:
1503 S. 1st Street
Austin, Texas 78704

http://www.izzoztacos.com/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara Deshong-Baker permalink
    October 29, 2010 11:14 am

    I also love this place. It tastes like real food and not a greasy mess. A good friend of mine that works at one of the top restaurants in town also works there, so it’s more than some kids slinging tacos. They put a good deal of care into their menu and prep.
    The only ‘bad’ thing about this place is that it is so close to Torchy’s and I feel like it gets overlooked b/c of that.
    Trust me, when you see that long ass line in front of the other S First trailers, do yourself a huge favor and just walk to Izzoz.

Trackbacks

  1. Soconistas Love These Tacos | Greystar South Congress

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

