Skip to content

287. Walton’s Fancy & Staple

October 14, 2010

I was eating here a few days ago with a friend and I was telling her how I could blog on this place over and over again. I actually thought this had made the list months ago, but I checked and doubled-checked, and shockingly I have not included Walton’s.

Photo: James Grayson Photography

Where do I start with a place that does everything right – they blow me away from their menu, desserts to the overall décor. How could you not fall in love with it? I’ve been in a chicken salad phase lately, and theirs was fantastic. They also bake fresh bread on site and have this “pretzel” bread that’s a must get for anyone that enjoys a good pretzel. It’s a great twist on any sandwich and a great way to spice up your day. I can also go on and on about how anyone with a sweet tooth must stop in, as their pastry selection is phenomenal.

The décor makes you feel like you walked into a bakery in Austin circa 1960. They even have a floral shop inside, which I think adds a little character and charm.

Also, as a cool little side note – local sweetheart and famous movie star Sandra Bullock has been involved in this project.  On top of all the great things Walton’s has to offer, the faint hope of a Sandra Bullock sighting will definitely keep me coming back.

Location:
609 W. Sixth Street
Austin, Texas 78701

http://www.waltonsfancyandstaple.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

