Skip to content

240. St. Edwards Park

August 28, 2010

With school starting, it’s safe to say that summer is over. I hope everyone survived the first week back. Now that it’s the weekend, it’s time to get outside and enjoy some of Austin’s great outdoors!

This is one of my favorite parks or hiking trails in town, and it’s great for dog owners. My friend used to live in some apartments within walking distance, so I would always take my dog and we would go for hikes in the evenings. The trails are off-leash trails, and dogs love that! It’s the perfect distance (I would say about a three-mile hike) and Bull Creek runs though it, giving your furry friend a perfect place to cool down.

There are two different trails. Both of them are a pretty easy walk, and kids and adults should both be able to enjoy them without any real difficulty. The one I traveled was the “creek” trail — the “hill” trail may prove a little more challenging.

On the countless adventures I had there, it was never too crowded and the scenery is some of the best in Austin. It is very peaceful and relaxing. And you’re not seeing things if you see someone on horseback. I once saw a couple out there riding, and it was the last thing my dog and I were expecting — so fair warning!

The Balcones preserve overlaps a portion of St. Edwards Park, however, I’m not as familiar with those areas. I do know that they don’t allow dogs.

It’s surprising to me that I don’t hear too much about this Austin park, and I don’t think it gets the recognition it deserves! It’s almost as if it’s a city secret or something.

Location

7301 Spicewood Springs Road
Austin, Texas 78759

http://www.austinparks.org/apfweb/park.php?parkId=339

photo thanks to: http://www.ctff.org/wwf/steds/index.html

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

