Skip to content

213. South Congress Cafe

August 1, 2010

To start off: Wow, it’s really August?

In my book, Sunday’s aren’t good for much more than a good meal and a long nap. My good meal on a Sunday normally starts with what else– Sunday Brunch. I was first introduced to South Congress Café last year when one of my foodie friends took me there for my birthday. Seeing as it was a birthday dinner, we splurged on appetizers, dinner and too much wine. And well, I was immediately hooked.

After stuffing myself on dinner, it was only natural I venture over there for brunch, and I don’t know what they do better. I could go there for brunch and then go back for dinner! For me, a good brunch includes a great drink to help get over a hangover. My must-try drinks: Ginger Mango Mimosa and South Congress Sangria. The Sangria is so delicious. It’s the kind of drink you have once and then have mornings when you wake up craving it. I absolutely despise Bloody Mary’s, but my friends say the “Infused Bloody Mary” is probably one of the best in town. Since they know a thing or two about cocktails, I’ll take their word for it. I almost forgot– the frozen Arnold Palmer– need I say more? Try it.

For brunch, I went with my normal pick: Migas. Needless to say, I wasn’t disappointed.

I’m just putting this out there: They aren’t the cheapest place in town. None the less, it’s well worth the wait (as normally there will be a wait for a table). I think this is one of those rare places where everything on the menu is good no matter what you try. As far as I know, they don’t have anything they’re “known” for– it’s all just amazing.

Location:

1600 S. Congress Ave
Austin, TX 78704

http://www.southcongresscafe.com/ (great website, I love the South Congress layout)

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 6:24 pm

    How ironic….I went there this morning and ordered the migas! Of course they were wonderful : ) Also had a bite of the carrot cake french toast which as sweet but equally as good as mine..

    Ri

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

