Skip to content

211. Butler Park Pitch and Putt

July 30, 2010

Honestly, I’ve probably driven by this place over 500 times and never even noticed it. I discovered this little Austin treasure last month when playing in a tournament there. What a fun Friday afternoon! Why didn’t I know about this place sooner? Apparently, it’s been an Austin favorite since 1950. Even after I knew where it was located, I still couldn’t picture it. It appeared out the blue like a little hidden treasure, and I’m so glad I found it.

My golf skills are on the beginner side, but I do love hitting some balls and bringing out the “Phil Mickelson” in me. All you need is a putter and another club (a driver or an iron). I’d go with an iron because you don’t need too much power on this 9-hole, par 3 course.

From my experience, it seems to be an “anything goes” establishment. There’s a very casual, friendly group of people there. It’s also a BYOB (Bring your own beer) joint, so grab a few cold ones, some friends (even your furry friend is welcome), and you’re in for an afternoon of good times. What more can you ask for– not to mention, the course has a fantastic view of downtown!

Even though this course is casual and laid-back, it’s drawn out pro’s to the tune of Ben Crenshaw. I can’t wait to get back out there and play a round. If I have any chance of ever making a hole-in-one, I think this is the place where the magic is going to happen.
Pricing:

$7 first round

$6 second round

$5 each additional round

$20 for the whole day

Hours:

M-F: 9 a.m. til dark
Weekends: 8:30 a.m. til dark

Location:
201 Lee Barton Drive
Austin, Texas 78704

Information and photo from: http://butlerparkpitchandputt.com
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

