Skip to content

140. Lake Travis

May 20, 2010

I debated between going Lake Austin or Travis today but with Travis being full and how we all love it I thought I might as well get it in while it is nice and filled. One of the things that I love most about Austin is that you have the Hill Country combined with these Fresh Water Lakes. Growing up in Houston I was used to flat land USA and the beaches of Galveston, let me just say I was never one for salt water nor beaches, I never really got used to sand. Something about a freshwater lake feels so clean and is much more enjoyable to me.

For all those Trivia buffs out there here is some Lake Travis Trivia:

Length : 63.75.miles
Width : 4 miles at widest point
Surface Area : 18,929 acres
Depth Average : 62ft.
Depth Max : 210ft.
Shoreline : 271 milesUse : Flood control, drinking water, recreation and hydro-electric power

Truth is there are few things in life that I love more than a day on the lake. I will admit I am happiest on the back of boat with the potential of getting some wakeboarding or tube wars in but I can settle for a day of just being a great park and enjoying it from that standpoint as well. We all know that Lake Travis has countless parks that you can enjoy as well as some great dining. I have already blogged on them but I am going to say that the Oasis probably has some of the best views of the lake, if you are looking for a place to chow down after a day on the lake boat up to Charlos & Charlie’s.

I feel like now that UT will graduate this weekend we are ready for summer, it is the official kick off for me. Eh, maybe the official kickoff for me is Memorial Day but none the less this warm weather just has me dying to get some lake time in.

I keep hearing all this talk about Aquapalooza coming up in July, get ready more on that later.

This is a great map of Lake Travis, http://www.communitywalk.com/map/index/227645.

Don’t have a boat, no worries, today blog followers can get 50% off at Just For Fun Watercraft Rentals.  http://365austin.fanforce.com/austin/.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

