Skip to content

130. Shoal Creek Greenbelt

May 10, 2010

I got to talking to my mom yesterday, naturally it was Mother’s Day and I asked her what her favorite thing about Austin was because I would blog on that tomorrow. Well, besides me being here of course, cheesy I know but she IS a mom and all she said that the Hill Country and hiking trails are what she enjoys most about our great city.

So here I am blogging on one of the trails that we have walked and enjoyed together. This Greenbelt appeals to bicyclists, dogs, walkers, joggers, and anyone who enjoys the great outdoors.

What I like most about this hike is that you can take it all the way down to Town Lake (or Lady Bird Lake) it also takes your right through the heart of Austin’s Pease Park. If you need some more distraction from the trail they also have a Frisbee or Disc Golf course along the trail.

I also like that it is right along Shoal Creek, imagine that – the Shoal Creek Greenbelt along Shoal Creek. There are a few spots along the trail that you need to cross the creek, most are easy crossings. The trail has a very “hike” feel,  much more so than Town Lake.

Do not miss the Canyon Part of the trail, by far my favorite part it is so rugged yet so close right in the middle of Central Austin you just get lost in this Greenbelt when you are walking it.

I used to live off 38th Street so this was a daily adventure for me, one that never got old and one that I highly recommend to anyone; it is the perfect escape from all the stress and obligations of life. Another reason she wanted me to blog on a good trail today was because she mentioned that everyone should check it out before the Austin Heat gets unbearable.

Trail Length: about 3.25 Miles

Location Map:
http://www.txinfo.com/products/ShoalCreek2005.pdf

My mom wants me to also say that the “Bats” were a close second, more on them later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

