Skip to content

118. Our Body: The Universe Within

April 28, 2010

This suggestion came from a few blog followers so I must give them credit for this off the wall list item and in my personal opinion a MUST DO list item. When I say off the wall I just mean that it is certainly not something we have the opportunity to see everyday day. I think we are lucky to have the exhibit hear in town, I did not realize until yesterday that it was in Austin.

To begin with the exhibit is completely mesmerizing. Our Body: The Universe is an artful and educational piece consisting of actual human bodies. It is a extremely close look at our bodies under the skin.  The exhibit allows you to discover the human body in a way that you have never seen before. You are given the opportunity to see fetus at various stages through pregnancy, dissect the major nervous systems throughout the body and take your level of understand of our body’s to a new level.

Before I tell you the ticket prices let me say that I can assure it is it well worth the price of admission. My sister and her boyfriend went years ago when it was in Houston at the time I think it may have been called “The Human Body” but they already have planned to come to Austin and see it this weekend.

Admission Prices:

General Admission $21
UT Students, Faculty, and Staff $11
Children (4-12) $11
Children (under 4) * Free
Seniors (62+) $16
Non UT Students (with ID) $16

 

In closing the exhibit is appropriate for all ages! I will warn parents that you are exposed the all parts of the human body is you get my drift but never in an inappropriate way. It is all very tastefully and artistically done but I still wanted to mention that.

Hours:
Monday to Thursday 10am-6pm
Friday & Saturday: 10am-9pm
Sunday: 12pm-6pm

Location:
H.J Lutcher Stark Center at DKR Texas Memorial Stadium
403 East 23rd Street
North End Zone, Suite 5.700
Austin, Texas 78712

One last time, definitely worth the price of admission, truth be told I do not have much interest in biology or any of that but this is just awe-inspiring and an unforgettable experience.

http://www.ourbodytheuniversewithin.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

