Skip to content

110. Explore Lady Bird Lake with a Kayak or Canoe

April 20, 2010

I think we are going to see some sunshine today and maybe I have cabin fever from all the overcast weather we have been having but I am way overdo  to blog about some outdoor fun. 

I frequent the hike and bike trails often and every time I pass by Texas Rowing Center right by Austin High I am always so jealous of all the people rowing, it always looks so much more fun than another mile or two on the trail.

Finally, after time and time of passing by I decided to do something about it and round up some friends and explore Austin on Lady Bird Lake and let me tell you – I wish I could do it every day, what a cool way to see the city, not to mention one of the most peaceful things I have done on the water.  

Texas Rowing Center allows you to rent kayaks or canoes – I think a prefer kayaks but I could go either way. I would love to rent a kayak once and take it out to watch the sunrise but let’s by honest here, I am by no means a morning person so I am concerned as to if this will ever materialize.

Texas Rowing Center always has tons of activities, one spring time activity I am dying to try is the Pooch Paddle, I am certain that with my water loving dog he won’t last two minutes before he dives in but I love the idea.  I have also wanted to look into a moonlit kayak adventure but have not had the opportunity.

Parents – they have Summer Camps, they start on June 7th. For more information visit, http://www.texasrowingcenter.com/summer_camps.htm.

Open from 6:00am until dusk everyday.

Watching sunset over the city from a kayak on the lake is such an experience, it is one of those things  you do and realize how lucky we are to be Austinites.

TODAY ONLY: Check out this deal for followers – $30.00 worth of rentals for $15.00 visit http://365austin.fanforce.com  to take advantage of this!

Location:
1541 West Cesar Chavez
Austin, Texas 78703

Phone: 512.467.7799

http://www.texasrowingcenter.com/

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

