Skip to content

90. P. Terry’s

March 31, 2010

Today seemed like a P. Terry’s kind of day with no rhyme or reason – maybe it is because I cannot get their teal cup out of my mind since I saw a co-worker, (Hi Kenny) walk by my office with one in hand recently – something has me craving a burger from there.

For those of you that have experienced the wonderfulness of California’s In and Out Burger – that is exactly what I would compare it too (bold statement, I know)! There must be a magic sauce they put on the burgers – its addictive because when you want a P. Terry’s burger nothing else will suffice.

I think they are just the right size, some think the burgers are on the small side but as far as I am concerned they are a healthy portion – besides aren’t we all on a mission for a healthier America. As far as the fries they are great too but I have to admit I rarely meet a fry I do not like. I will give them credit for their mean milkshakes, if you need something to wash down that burger and fries that will top it off.

A former vegetarian tells me they also make an extraordinary Veggie Burger – I’ve never had a Veggie Burger but apparently the Austin Chronicle seconds that. So this is your go to burger joint for everyone, not just meat lovers.

They are as local as it gets and support local charities and organizations – I love companies that stays true the local values and give back to their community.

Not to mention, great prices.

Do not let me be the one to convince you to give this local favorite a try as they have received countless accolades’ over the years.  In 2009 alone they took home these 7 awards:

  • “BEST HAMBURGER” (tie) Austin Chronicle Restaurant Poll Awards
  • “BEST VEGGIE BURGER” Austin Chronicle Restaurant Poll Award
  • “BEST FAST FOOD” Austin Chronicle Restaurant Poll Award
  • “BEST DOG FRIENDLY PATIO” Austin Chronicle Restaurant Poll Award
  • “BEST CHEAP DATE” Austin Chronicle Best Of Awards
  • “BEST BURGER” The Daily Texan readers Poll
  • “BEST BURGER” Austin360 A-List Winner

I frequent the original location:
Barton Springs and S. Lamar
404 S. Lamar Blvd.

However there is also one at 32nd & Lamar as well as Mopac & William Cannon.

http://www.pterrys.com/

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

