Skip to content

88. Capital City BMX

March 29, 2010

I know that today is a wildcard suggestion but it is something that I have been so excited about since I first heard of the BMX track here in Austin.  We are a city with a large focus on cycling – this just happens to be off road on a track, a different spin on something that is a very popular pastime.

As a kid I used to love to act like I was on a real BMX track when I road my bike, I even had the boots, outfit and  helmet all I was missing the dirt filled quarter mile track. I used to make my own tracks but none of them compare to what Austin has to offer in our own backyard for an entry fee of $3.00. For those of you who saw the X Games 3D Movie last summer you may have some appreciation for how fun/hard BMX biking can be.  Dave Mirra along with some  others can have me mesmerized all day.

I admit that I spend some time looking at the pictures which seem to primarily have kids but I am guessing on the practice days it is an anything goes day.

Practice Days:
Monday 5:30-7:30pm
Thursday 5:30-7:30pm

To ride during the practice times it is $3.00. You can also get more information on signing up for lessons if you are serious about bmx riding. But for someone living out a childhood fantasy stopping by on a practice day will be just fine.

Here is a link to their track, http://capcitybmx.com/Track_3D.html – it reminds me of the dirt track level on Mario Cart.

Location:
15010 RR 620 N  
Austin, Texas 78717

http://www.capcitybmx.com/

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 96 other followers

  • Follow Me!

    Follow 365ThingsAustin on Twitter
  • Tweet Me

  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

